The Certified Prevention Specialist-Associate II (CPS-II) is a credential for experienced prevention professionals. This credential holder must currently possess a Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS) credential. The credential is only recognized in Indiana.

Requirements to earn your CPS II

Current Credential:
  • Must be currently credentialed as a Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS) and the credential be in good standing
  • 6,000 hours of paid prevention work specific to the Prevention Specialist skills domains

Skills Domains

  1. Planning and Evaluation
  2. Prevention Education and Service Delivery
  3. Communication
  4. Community Organization
  5. Public Policy and Environmental Change
  6. Professional Growth and Responsibility

Register for your CPS II credential

Issues with your Certemy account?

Phone No: 866-907-4088

Education Hours
  • 160 hours of prevention specific education is required
    • hours used to gain the CPS credential are eligible to count towards the 160 total hours
  • 6 hours in cultural competency
Letters of Recommendations
  • Three letters from community partners
Code of Ethics
  • Applicant must sign, and agree to abide by, the ICAADA Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS) code of ethics
  • Candidate must live/work in Indiana at least 51% of the time
  • 40 hours of CPS domain specific education during the period of certification (2 years), Including 3 clock-hours in Prevention specific ethics education and 6 clock-hours in Cultural Competency education
  • Membership: $125
  • Certification: Member – $100 | Non-member – $200