ICAADA Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS) is a credential for prevention professionals recognized by the International Credentialing and Reciprocity Consortium (IC&RC) and IC&RC affiliated states and countries that offer the IC&RC CPS credential.

Requirements to earn your CPS credential

  • 2,000 hours of Prevention work experience across the PS domains
  • 120 hours specific to the domains with a minimum of ten hours in each CPS skill domain listed below
  • 120 hours of prevention specific education is required.

    24 hours of 120 hours must be ATOD specific.
    6 hours of the 120 hours must be specific to prevention ethics.

Skills Domain

  1. Planning and Evaluation
  2. Prevention Education and Service Delivery
  3. Communication
  4. Community Organization
  5. Public Policy and Environmental Change
  6. Professional Growth and Responsibility
Code of Ethics
  • The applicant must sign, and agree to abide by the ICAADA Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS) Code of Ethics

  • Candidate must live or work in Indiana at least 51% of the time
  • 40 hours of continuing education related prevention, includes 3 in prevention ethics.
  • Membership: $125
  • Exam: Member – $200 | Non-member – $400
  • Certification: Member – $100 | Non-member – $200

Register for your CPS credentials

Issues with your Certemy account?

Phone No: 866-907-4088

The CPS credential meets the International Credentialing & Reciprocity Consortium requirements for the Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS) credential.  Please visit IC&RC reciprocity page and learn more about reciprocity and how this credential may be eligible for other IC&RC Member Boards credentials.